Two issues about output objects

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
archeura
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Facolt� di Ingegneria Bologna

Two issues about output objects

Post by archeura »

Hi all!
I have two issues..

First: there are commands like ‘nodeDisp’ or ‘nodeVel’ to check other parameters of the structure like stiffness, local deformations, etc.?
If not, how can I check them?
For ex. if I want to stop the analysis when a target deformation is reached by concrete or steel, how can I do that?

Second: in the section fiber deformation output file the three columns are : load factor , axial def. and rotation. Isn’t it? The last is the chord rotation?

Thank you for the attention and for your assistance! :wink:

Best regards.
silvia
Posts: 3909
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:44 am
Location: Degenkolb Engineers
Contact:

Post by silvia »

the first column is more time. and in 2d, yes, it is axial and curvature, not rotation.
there is something like getStrain,or getStress, I think.
Silvia Mazzoni, PhD
Structural Consultant
Degenkolb Engineers
235 Montgomery Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA. 94104
tperea
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:40 pm
Location: UAM

getStrain, getStress

Post by tperea »

How do getStrain or getStress commands work?.
I have not seen anything about it in the manual.
silvia
Posts: 3909
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:44 am
Location: Degenkolb Engineers
Contact:

Post by silvia »

if they are undocumented commands, Frank should be able to help you.

but you can always get them in post-processing.
Silvia Mazzoni, PhD
Structural Consultant
Degenkolb Engineers
235 Montgomery Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA. 94104
kyonten
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 7:11 pm
Location: George Washington University

getStrain?

Post by kyonten »

Is there a getStrain command or is it a function in the material implementation code? If such command exist is there an example on how to use it. If no such command exist, is there a command to extract strain component during the analysis to check the values rather than from the output files.
hugo.esquivel
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:18 am
Location: -

Re: getStrain?

Post by hugo.esquivel »

Try with eleResponse command... (see the online manual)

Hope it helps you.
Hugo Esquivel
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Post by fmk »

it is the eleResponse command, here is an example usage.

[code]
model basic -ndm 2 -ndf 2

node 1 0.0 0.0
node 2 0.0 10.0 -mass 0.0 1.0
uniaxialMaterial Elastic 3 300.0
element truss 1 1 2 10.0 3
fix 1 1 1
fix 2 1 0

set Fy -50. ;# magnitude
set SineSeries "Trig 0. 1000. 1."
pattern Plain 2 $SineSeries {
load 2 0.0 $Fy
}

system BandGen
constraints Plain
test NormDispIncr 1.0e-12 10 0
algorithm Newton
numberer RCM
integrator Newmark 0.5 0.25
analysis Transient
for {set i 1} {$i < 1000} {incr i 1} {
analyze 1 0.01
set stress [eleResponse 1 material stress]
puts "[getTime] $stress"
}

[/code]
Post Reply