Problem with Gravity Load

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
lindaatik
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:02 pm

Problem with Gravity Load

Post by lindaatik »

Hi Silvia,

I have U-shaped retaining structures with soil backfill. When I try to add the mass of the structures as node loads, I get the following message:
"Node::addunbalLoad - load to add of incorrect size 2 should be 3"

The nodes have ndf 3 and I am using:
pattern Plain 1 Linear {
load $tag1 0.0 [expr -9.81*$M] 0.0;
}

Can you please let me know what's wrong?

Thanks a lot,
Linda.
silvia
Posts: 3909
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:44 am
Location: Degenkolb Engineers
Contact:

Post by silvia »

why don't you put in
puts "load $tag1 0.0 [expr -9.81*$M] 0.0"

and see what comes out. likely, i am guessing, $tag1 is blank.
Silvia Mazzoni, PhD
Structural Consultant
Degenkolb Engineers
235 Montgomery Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA. 94104
Ricsey
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:24 pm
Location: Budapest University of Technology and Economincs

Re: Problem with Gravity Load

Post by Ricsey »

I have the same error, but with different problem.

This is my sample code:

pattern Plain 10000 Linear {
foreach node $NODES px $PX py $PY {
load $node $px $py 0.0
puts "$node $px $py 0.0 "
}
}

the ndm is 2 and the ndf is 3
the NODES vector is from the opensees command from where I can get the node ID-s.
px and py are not empty, because in the output I check it as you see (puts "$node ...")

After a first iteration I got this error:
Node::addunbalLoad - load to add of incorrect size 3 should be 4
What does this means?
Ricsey
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:24 pm
Location: Budapest University of Technology and Economincs

Re: Problem with Gravity Load

Post by Ricsey »

And another note for this.
If I change the nodal load row to:
load $node $px $py 0.0 0.0
the following appears:
Node::addunbalLoad - load to add of incorrect size 4 should be 3
This is the opposite of the previous one.
Ricsey
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:24 pm
Location: Budapest University of Technology and Economincs

Re: Problem with Gravity Load

Post by Ricsey »

I need an answer pls!
mhscott
Posts: 876
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:38 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with Gravity Load

Post by mhscott »

Can you post more of your script, like how you define NODES, PX, and PY arrays/lists?
Ricsey
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:24 pm
Location: Budapest University of Technology and Economincs

Re: Problem with Gravity Load

Post by Ricsey »

If you send your email I could give you. It is a bit difficult model, it has a lot of files, I got this from the Standford University.
mhscott wrote:
> Can you post more of your script, like how you define NODES, PX, and PY
> arrays/lists?
Post Reply