OpenSees-MATLAB

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
hooman_ces
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 10:17 pm

OpenSees-MATLAB

Post by hooman_ces »

Hi,

I would really appreciate if someone could tell me how to analyze a model built in OpenSees (a tcl file), via MATLAB. In other words I want to have a link between OpenSees and MATLAB. First I should run OpenSees and then write 'source inputfile.tcl' in the command prompt (which is OpenSees here) through MATLAB. I want MATLAB`s associated commands.

Thanks
silvia
Posts: 3909
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:44 am
Location: Degenkolb Engineers
Contact:

Post by silvia »

ask the guys who wrote OpenSees Navigator.
But are you sure you want to carry the Matlab burden during analysis? it'd really slow things down...
Silvia Mazzoni, PhD
Structural Consultant
Degenkolb Engineers
235 Montgomery Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA. 94104
hooman_ces
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 10:17 pm

Post by hooman_ces »

Thank you for your reply
I`m going to build some models automatically with MATLAB, analyze them with OpenSees, compare the results and find the best one. So I think I have to use MATLAB.
Another choice is to run m files with tcl commands. Do you have any information in this field?
srisri_iitk
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: IIT KANPUR

Post by srisri_iitk »

you can use Gid as pre-processor as well as post processor with some coding,
and run opensees from Gid itself
srikanth deevi
IIT Kanpur
silvia
Posts: 3909
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:44 am
Location: Degenkolb Engineers
Contact:

Post by silvia »

why not in tcl?
Silvia Mazzoni, PhD
Structural Consultant
Degenkolb Engineers
235 Montgomery Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA. 94104
hooman_ces
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 10:17 pm

Post by hooman_ces »

I think I will face difficulties in post processing analysis with tcl, while MATLAB is more powerful in numerical and graphical calculations. That is why I need running m files with tcl commands or tcl files with m ones.
divamva
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 6:52 am
Location: National Technical University of Athens

Post by divamva »

simply go to the directory where opensees and inputfile.tcl reside and then run opensees as a system command from Matlab:

For example, within Matlab, if your files are in c:\opensees,

>> cd c:\opensees
>> opensees inputfile.tcl

I hope this helps.
divamva
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 6:52 am
Location: National Technical University of Athens

Post by divamva »

oops, correction:

>> ! opensees inputfile.tcl
Ali123
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 8:03 am
Location: UOT

Post by Ali123 »

thats simple and cool, it really works well :lol:
Ali123
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 8:03 am
Location: UOT

Post by Ali123 »

Ali123 wrote:thats simple and cool, it really works well :lol:
koduru
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:41 am
Location: U of A

Post by koduru »

Does anyone know how to input a vector in Matlab as ground motion in OpenSees?

I want to do this without saving vector to file and using file as ground motion in Tcl.

Will I be able to do that?
Post Reply