what is the reason of Error?

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
madarshahian
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: University of California at San Diego
Contact:

what is the reason of Error?

Post by madarshahian »

Dear friends;
I really need your help.
I build very simple model, a steel frame (one bay one story) with nonlinearbeamcolumn element and steel01 for material. but I faced to error. It is very important for me to find the reason. I put the time, but unfortunately I cannot find the reason; so please help me to solve this problem.
my model is:
------------
wipe
set displayMode "displayOff"
model BasicBuilder -ndm 3 -ndf 6
node 1 -3 0 0;#bot left
node 2 3 0 0 ;#bot right
node 3 -3 3.2 0;#top left
node 4 3 3.2 0;#top right
fix 1 1 1 1 1 1 1; #node 1: fully fixed
fix 2 1 1 1 1 1 1; #node 2: fully fixed
fix 3 0 1 1 1 1 0;#node 3:act on xy plane only
fix 4 0 1 1 1 1 0;#node 4:act on xy plane only
#uniaxialMaterial Steel02 $matTag $Fy $E $b $R0 $cR1 $a1 $a2 $a3 $a4
set Fy 240e6
set E 1.999E+11
set b 0.03

uniaxialMaterial Steel01 1 $Fy $E $b
set HEA300A 1
set HE240B 2; #eletag
source Wsection.tcl
Wsection $HEA300A 1 .29 0.3 0.014 .0085 7 1 1 4
Wsection $HE240B 1 .24 0.24 0.017 .01 7 1 1 4

uniaxialMaterial Elastic 2 67518;#torsional GJ HEA300A
uniaxialMaterial Elastic 3 79976;#torsional GJ HE240B
section Aggregator 3 2 T -section $HEA300A
section Aggregator 4 3 T -section $HE240B
# coordinate transformation
geomTransf Linear 1 0 0 -1
geomTransf Linear 2 0 1 0
set numIntgrPts 8
# element nonlinearBeamColumn $$iNode $jNode $numIntgrPts $secTag $transfTag
element nonlinearBeamColumn 1 1 3 $numIntgrPts 4 1;#HE240B
element nonlinearBeamColumn 2 3 4 $numIntgrPts 3 2;#HEA300A
element nonlinearBeamColumn 3 4 2 $numIntgrPts 4 1;#HEA240B
set uniform 1
pattern Plain $uniform Linear {
load 3 0.5e1 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
load 4 0.5e1 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
}
recorder Node -file result3.out -node 3 -dof 1 2 3 disp
recorder Node -file result2.out -node 1 2 3 -dof 1 2 3 reaction
print output.out
set analysis "STATIC"
system UmfPack

constraints Plain
test NormDispIncr 1.0e-6 6

algorithm Newton
numberer RCM
integrator LoadControl 0.1
analysis Static
analyze 10

------------------
and the error and response of opensees is:
Starting OpenSees..


OpenSees -- Open System For Earthquake Engineering Simulation
Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center -- 2.1.0

(c) Copyright 1999,2000 The Regents of the University of California
All Rights



WARNING - ForceBeamColumn3d::update - failed to get compatible element forces &
deformations for element: 1(dW: << 1.#INF, dW0: 6.23155e+037)
WARNING - ForceBeamColumn3d::update - failed to get compatible element forces &
deformations for element: 2(dW: << 1.#INF, dW0: 6.52505e+026)
WARNING - ForceBeamColumn3d::update - failed to get compatible element forces &
deformations for element: 3(dW: << 1.#INF, dW0: 6.23155e+037)
Domain::update - domain failed in update
LoadControl::update - model failed to update for new dU
WARNING NewtonRaphson::solveCurrentStep() -the Integrator failed in update()
StaticAnalysis::analyze() - the Algorithm failed at iteration: 0 with domain at
load factor 0.1
OpenSees > analyze failed, returned: -3 error flag
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
End of script <D:\opensees\tcleditor\bin\Test2Mod.tcl> reached, Press any key to
continue



thank you in advance
silvia
Posts: 3909
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:44 am
Location: Degenkolb Engineers
Contact:

Post by silvia »

please compare it to the examples in the examples manual.
and there you will find parts of a script on how to deal with converegence issues
Silvia Mazzoni, PhD
Structural Consultant
Degenkolb Engineers
235 Montgomery Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA. 94104
madarshahian
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: University of California at San Diego
Contact:

Post by madarshahian »

Dear Silvia;
As I said;I have worked VERY hard on this model, but i’m unsuccessful to find way to solve the problem. when I put the load about zero; the problem would be solved, but this isn't the good way, because existing loading is logic.
I really confused. the model is really simple,please help me.
hugo.esquivel
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:18 am
Location: -

Post by hugo.esquivel »

Hi. These are the correct lines:

Wsection $HEA300A 1 .29 0.3 0.014 .0085 7 1 4 1
Wsection $HE240B 1 .24 0.24 0.017 .01 7 1 4 1

(see Wsection.tcl for details)

Regards.
Hugo Esquivel
canim_ken
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:50 am
Location: Sharif University of Technology

Post by canim_ken »

Hi,

In addition to correcting the Wsection command line try the settings below for your analyze:

constraints Lagrange
numberer Plain
system BandGeneral
test EnergyIncr 1.e-7 6
algorithm ModifiedNewton
integrator LoadControl 0.1
analysis Static
analyze 10
Hadi Kenarangi
madarshahian
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: University of California at San Diego
Contact:

Post by madarshahian »

thank you all
Post Reply