where is the dinamic libray?

For developers writing C++, Fortran, Java, code who have questions or comments to make.

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
J.Zhang
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 3:27 am
Location: Edinburgh

where is the dinamic libray?

Post by J.Zhang »

Dear all,

I want to add the subroutine into the software, so do I need to put it into the dinamic library? But where is the dinamic libray? Otherwise, where should I put the subroutine?

Thanks a lot.
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Post by fmk »

you put it in one of the following:
1) dir from which apoplication loaded.
2) current directory where script is.
3) directory in your PATH
danielzoetzl
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:32 pm

Post by danielzoetzl »

@fmk:

I tried to run your example file form the OpenSees Dynamic API manual.
I put the OpenSees application in the folder OpenSees>packages>... where the example.tcl file ant the new element TrussCPP are stored. But when I run it, OpenSees gives me the error message "WARNING could not create element, unknown type:TrussCPP".

What's wrong?

Thanks
Daniel
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Post by fmk »

have you created the trussCPP.dll and is it located in that direcory.
danielzoetzl
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:32 pm

Post by danielzoetzl »

No, how to do that? Can't find it in the OpenSees Dynamic API Manual.
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Post by fmk »

the examples provided are for developers. it is assumed in the manual that developers know how to generate dll's.

basically you need to go get a compiler like microsoft's visual studio. then you need to create a project which will output a dll, like the example projects that are provided. you add yoiur code to the project and compile & link.
Post Reply