rigid offset option in 3D corotational transform

For developers writing C++, Fortran, Java, code who have questions or comments to make.

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
seocy
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:26 pm
Location: Lehigh

rigid offset option in 3D corotational transform

Post by seocy »

Hi, User,

I encountered a problem with rigid offset in 3D corotational transformation.
I am in the middle of creating a 3D frame model. Before creating elements, I checked whether nodes and geometric transformation were properly defined. I used Corotational transformation with jntOffset option but OS warned "rigid joint zones not implemented yet" and assigned zero values. Does corotCrdTransf actually have an option for joint offset? Thanks always..
seocy
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:26 pm
Location: Lehigh

Re: rigid offset option in 3D corotational transform

Post by seocy »

I briefly looked into the source code for 3D corotational transformation. I found in the CorotCrdTransf3d.cpp that rigidoffsets are set to be zero in the constructor regardless of input command.


Code: Select all

// constructor:
CorotCrdTransf3d::CorotCrdTransf3d(int tag, const Vector &vecInLocXZPlane,
                                   const Vector &rigJntOffsetI,
                                   const Vector &rigJntOffsetJ):CrdTransf3d(tag, CRDTR_TAG_CorotCrdTransf3d),
vAxis(3), nodeIOffset(3), nodeJOffset(3), xAxis(3),
nodeIPtr(0), nodeJPtr(0), R0(3,3), L(0), Ln(0), 
alphaIq(4), alphaJq(4), 
alphaIqcommit(4), alphaJqcommit(4), alphaI(3), alphaJ(3),
ulcommit(7), ul(7),  ulpr(7),
nodeIInitialDisp(0), nodeJInitialDisp(0), initialDispChecked(false)
{


...
    // temporary
    if (nodeIOffset.Norm() != 0 || nodeJOffset.Norm() != 0)
    {
        opserr << "CorotCrdTransf3d::CorotCrdTransf3d: rigid joint zones not implemented yet\n";
        opserr << "Using zero values\n"; 
        nodeIOffset.Zero();
        nodeJOffset.Zero();
    }
...

Isn't it a bug? or Am I wrong to interpret the code? It says no matter what, the constructor sets nodeoffsets to be zero. Thanks for your comment in advance.
fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5884
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Post by fmk »

it has warning said has never been implemented.
Post Reply